Corazón Communities

Corazón programs are currently operating in 7 different Mexican communities across Tijuana and Tecate—Cerro Azul, and Valle de las Palmas in Tecate and Cumbres, Flores Magon, Nuevo Milenio, Cañon Carretas and Pedregal, in Tijuana.


Leadership within these communities

In each community Corazón has built a community center where families and children meet for tutoring, classes, special events, and community meetings.

Each community consists of a committee made of nine elected members, a Representative, Treasurer, Secretary, Member, Academic Coordinator, Adult Coordinator, Construction Coordinator, Sustained Development Coordinator, and Youth Coordinator.


Each position holds distinct responsibilities, and the committee as a whole is responsible for reviewing proposals and approving projects, such as house builds, room additions and repairs for the families in their own communities.